Who is eligible for an initial DACA grant?

To be eligible for deferred action under the DACA program, you must:

  • Have come to the United States before your 16th birthday.
  • Lived continuously in the U.S. since either June 15, 2007.
  • Have been present in the U.S. on June 15, 2012, and on every day since August 15, 2012.
  • Have not had a lawful immigration status on June 15, 2012. To meet this requirement, you must have entered the U.S. without papers before June 15, 2012, or, if you entered lawfully, your lawful immigration status expired before June 15, 2012.
  • Not have a lawful immigration status at the time of your application.
  • Be at least 15 years old. If you are currently in deportation proceedings, have a voluntary departure order, or have a deportation order, and are not in immigration detention, you may request DACA even if you are not yet 15 years old.
  • Have graduated or obtained a certificate of completion from high school, have obtained a general education development (GED) certificate, be an honorably discharged veteran of the Coast Guard or U.S. armed forces, or “be in school” on the date that you submit your DACA application.
  • Have not been convicted of a felony offense.
  • Have not been convicted of a significant misdemeanor offense or three or more misdemeanor offenses.
  • Not pose a threat to national security or public safety (including gang membership, participation in criminal activities, or participation in activities that threaten the U.S.)
Related Posts
  • How was the DACA program expanded? Read More
  • What qualifies as “currently in school?” Read More
  • Undocumented Aliens Have Constitutional Rights Read More