What qualifies as “currently in school?”

To meet the “currently in school” requirement, you must be enrolled in:

  • A public, private, or charter elementary school; junior high or middle school; high school; secondary school; alternative program; or homeschool program that meets state requirements;
  • An education, literacy, or career-training program (including vocational training) that has a purpose of improving literacy, mathematics, or English or is designed to lead to placement in post-secondary education, job training, or employment, and where you are working toward such placement; or
  • An education program assisting students either in obtaining a regular high school diploma or its recognized equivalent under state law (including a certificate of completion, certificate of attendance, or alternate award), or in passing a GED exam or other equivalent state-authorized exam.

NOTE: On Feb. 16, 2015, a federal district court in Texas issued an order that puts the expanded DACA program on hold temporarily. People cannot apply for expanded DACA at this time. However, people who believe they are eligible for DACA under the pre-expansion guidelines may still apply for DACA.

Related Posts
  • How was the DACA program expanded? Read More
  • Undocumented Aliens Have Constitutional Rights Read More
  • Other Important Rights Read More